London Boroughs

There are 33 London boroughs in the administrative area of Greater London.  They are divided between inner London which comprises twelve of these boroughs plus the City of London, and Outer London which comprises the twenty remaining boroughs of Greater London.


  1. London boroughs Interactive Map
  2. Introduction
  3. London boroughs Functions
  4. London boroughs Nomenclature
  5. London boroughs History
  6. List of London boroughs
  7. London boroughs Map

London boroughs Functions

The London boroughs main function is to play the role of the local government.  They are responsible for the administration and management of various services including :

  1. schools
  2. social services
  3. waste collection
  4. roads

Sometimes various London borough councils group together to administer share services. For example the waste collection and disposal of the West London Waste Authority.

They are administered by London Borough Councils which are elected every four years

London boroughs Nomenclature

All London boroughs use the term "London Borough of" in their names, except 3 including:

  1. City of Westminster as it has city status
  2. Kingston upon Thames, termed "Royal Borough of" (due to their Royal borough status)
  3. Kensington and Chelsea, , termed "Royal Borough of"

London boroughs History

The present London boroughs were created by the London Government Act 1963. They came into existence on 1 April 1965 with the creation of Greater London. The first London Borough elections had been held in 1964 with the newly elected London Borough Councils acting as "shadow" authorities before coming into power the following year.
They had wider authority than the inner London metropolitan boroughs and neighbouring urban districts and municipal boroughs which they mostly replaced, but less power than the three county boroughs of Croydon, West Ham and East Ham, which ceased to exist at the same time.

The City of London is administered by its own distinct body, the City of London Corporation, which predates the London boroughs.

List of London boroughs

There are 32 London boroughs plus the City of London which is not officially consider a London borough. 
Those are:

  1. City of London
  2. City of Westminster
  3. Kensington and Chelsea
  4. Hammersmith and Fulham
  5. Wandsworth
  6. Lambeth
  7. Southwark
  8. Tower Hamlets
  9. Hackney
  10. Islington
  11. Camden
  12. Brent
  13. Ealing
  14. Hounslow
  15. Richmond upon Thames
  16. Kingston upon Thames
  17. Merton
  18. Sutton
  19. Croydon
  20. Bromley
  21. Lewisham
  22. Greenwich
  23. Bexley
  24. Havering
  25. Barking and Dagenham
  26. Redbridge
  27. Newham
  28. Waltham Forest
  29. Haringey
  30. Enfield
  31. Barnet
  32. Harrow
  33. Hillingdon